JUST IN: Akpabio has won the APC Senate Primary for Akwa Ibom North West District.

Godswill Akpabio, former Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, has won the All Progressives Congress (APC) ticket for Akwa Ibom North West Senatorial District.

With 478 votes, Akpabio won the primary.
Out of the 540 delegates, 512 were accredited, with Sir Joseph Akpan receiving one vote, DIG Ekpo Udom receiving three votes, and 11 votes being nullified.

Speaking on Thursday night at the Godswill Akpabio Empowerment Centre in Ikot Ekpene Local Government Area, where the re-run primary was held, Akpabio expressed gratitude to the people for believing in him.

“I am grateful to the Akwa Ibom North West senatorial district for considering me worthy of another chance to represent you in the Nigerian Senate.” I recall when you gave me the first mandate from 2015 to 2019, and I recollect no Senator ever doing the sort of empowering I did for you.
“I know a lot of projects were completed across the ten local government districts, from markets to water projects, electrification projects, and classroom block construction,” he said.

Earlier, Stephen Ntukekpo, the State APC Chairman, stated that he was directed by the party at the national level to carry out the re-run, citing infractions in the first primary as the basis for the re-run.

“There were some irregularities in the primaries held approximately a week ago, and the National Working Committee asked me to re-run them.”

“There are roughly five people participating in this workout.” They have all been notified and are completely informed. Sir Joseph Akpan, DIG Ekpo Udom, Obong Emem Ekperikpe Ekpo, and Senator Godswill Akpabio are the candidates,” he stated.
Though the other candidates were not present during the exercise, one of them, Obong Emem Ekperikpe Ekpo, declared his resignation in support of Akpabio.

The five-person monitoring committee was led by the Chairman, Sir Sylvester Okonkwo, Secretary, Alhaji Salisu Isa, and Mrs Bunmi Imole, the returning officer, among others, as well as representatives from the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Leave Comment

Your email address will not be published.